January 2 2017

I took some time off for the holidays but with the new year it’s time to recommit to this project. Let’s get back into it! 

From Riley Adams Doubles Down

Mattie grinned. “You and me doing recon together. Just like old times.” She looked over at Howell. “Ready track down some leads, partner?”

Howell looked from Mattie to Riley and back, his expression still blank. “I’d prefer to go on my own.”

Mattie shrugged. “Sure.” She pulled a set of keys out of her pocket and tossed them to him. “You take the car then.”

He nodded and stalked out without another word.

Riley watched him go. When he was gone she said, “How are you still sane? If that guy was my partner, I’d have lost it a long time ago.”

Mattie laughed. “Well, to be fair I was already a little crazy to begin with.”

“That’s definitely true,” Riley said with a grin.

“And I’ve made it a game to see how long it takes before he gets annoyed with me and snaps. I’m slowly chipping away at him.”

“Yeah, good luck with that.” Riley stood up and tucked her revolver into its holster on the back of her belt. “Now come on, let’s go shake down some vampires.”

Leave a Reply

