December 13 2016

From Riley Adams Stops Time

“Aren’t you supposed to be the time travel expert here? I mean, this is what you do, right?”

“Sure,” Artemis said. “But at the end of the day I’m an engineer, not a quantum physicist.”

“Which means?”

“Which means I can fix machines.” She tapped one of the metal boxes. “I can’t fix the whatever’s wrong with the time stream.” She waved a hand vaguely in the air.  “I’m still surprised you and Wells got in.”

Riley raised both hands in surrender. “Don’t ask me how we did it. I didn’t even know what the time stream was until today.”

Artemis wasn’t listening. She was staring down at one of the metal boxes, the one she had picked up a weak signal on. “You got in…” She muttered quietly. “I wonder…” She fiddled with a couple of dials on the box. Riley had no clue what she was doing but apparently it went well because after a few minutes she said. “I think I’ve got it!”

Leave a Reply

