December 9 2016

I gave myself a week or so off after National Novel Writing Month but now I’m back at it! 

From Riley Adams Stops Time

First problem first though, she thought, she had to cheer up Artemis. Riley put a hand on the other woman’s shoulder. “Hey, it’s okay to be scared. Even I get scared sometimes.”

Artemis raised an eyebrow. “You? Scared?”

“Sure. If I didn’t I wouldn’t be human.”

“What do you do then? This is a bit new to me.”

“Honestly? I usually have AJ around to tell me to stop being an idiot because I can do whatever scary thing I have to do.”

“Sounds like AJ,” Artemis said with a sad smile. She looked back out at the horizon. “I miss her so much.”

“I know she’s missing you too,” Riley said. “Don’t tell her I told you but she was really upset when you disappeared.”

Artemis’s face fell again. “I never meant to hurt her.”

“Hey, it’s okay. She’ll be fine as long as we all get back home.”

“Are you sure?”

“Of course. Just promise me one thing.”

“Sure.”

“When we get back, tell AJ how you feel. It’s pretty obvious you two are crazy about each other and it’s about time you did something about it. And if I know AJ I know she’s not going to be the one to make the first move.”

Artemis smiled. “I think I can do that.”

“Good. It’s about time.”

Artemis laughed. “You’re telling me. This whole mess has shown me what’s really important and AJ is at the top of the list. I don’t know what I’ve been waiting for.”

Leave a Reply

