NaNoWriMo Day 28

Artemis Bly Saves History

Nov 28 word count: 44, 475

Darcy let out a huff at the sound of Mattie’s name. “Maybe.” Then, after a moment of hesitation, she added, “What’s her deal, anyway?”

Artemis was genuinely confused. “What do you mean?”

“I mean, she’s always…I don’t know, looking at me, and saying those things.”

Artemis had to fight a laugh. “You really don’t know?”

Darcy shook her head. “No, whatever she’s doing it’s really distracting.”

“Darcy, she’s been flirting with you.”

Darcy lost her footing and stumbled. When she righted herself, she said, “She’s…she’s flirting?! With me?”

“Yeah and pretty blatantly, too.”

“Why?”

“Well, I’d imagine it’s because she likes you.”

Darcy came to a halt so suddenly that Artemis didn’t realize it at first and had to turn around and jog back to her. “She does?” Darcy’s voice was quiet and unsure and unlike the Darcy Thatcher Artemis had always known. 

“Sure,” Artemis said, with a smile. “And why wouldn’t she? You’re brilliant, Darcy.”

Darcy thought about this for a moment. “What do I do about it?”

“What do you want to do about it?”

“I’m not sure. No one’s ever liked me enough to flirt with me like that before.”

“Well, how to you feel about Mattie?”

“She’s tough, and she definitely knows her stuff and she can make me laugh which not many people can do. I guess I like having her around.”

“Seems like you like her too.”

“Maybe.” Darcy still seemed unsure.

“You don’t have to do anything if you don’t want to,” Artemis assured her. “You can just wait and see what happens.”

That seemed to make Darcy feel better. They started jogging again and slowly the confusion left Darcy’s expression and she was back to her usual self. The ran the rest of the way in silence but just as they got to the cabin, Artemis said, “Just for the record, I think you two would be pretty cute together.”

That threw Darcy for a split second but she recovered and shot Artemis her best annoyed look. “I hate you.”

Leave a Reply

