NaNoWriMo Day 23

Artemis Bly Saves History

Nov 23 word count: 33,000

“And we’ve got those two. I think that’s a good thing.” AJ pointed ahead of them to Darcy and Mattie who were having an animated debate about hand to hand combat techniques.

“Look, mate, I studied at the Temple of the Six Winds in the Himalayas. I lived there for a whole year and did nothing but train. Then I went through basic and advanced training with the Time Overwatch Committee,” Darcy was saying.

“Yeah, well, I went to the school of the streets of Queens where being a queer kid wasn’t particularly easy. Then when I was eighteen, I did basic training in the Army, served overseas, and after my four years were up, I went to the FBI Academy where I graduated second in my class,” Mattie countered.

Darcy actually looked impressed. “Not bad. I could still take you in a fight, though.”

“You wish, Thatcher.”

Artemis thought they might actually start a fist fight right then and there just to see who would win but luckily, they’d reached the cabin. Darcy unlocked the door and as they followed her in, AJ whispered to Artemis, “I’m not sure if they’re going to end up punching each other or making out.”

Artemis shrugged. “Probably both.”

Leave a Reply

