NaNoWriMo Day 21

Artemis Bly Saves History

Nov 21 word count: 29,000

“And in the meantime, you’ll just keep flirting with Darcy?”

Mattie grinned. “That obvious, huh?”

“You’re not particularly subtle about it.”

“Good, I wasn’t trying to be. Now if only I could get to flirt back instead of arguing with me all the time.”

“I think arguing is her way of flirting,” Artemis observed. “Normally she doesn’t bother arguing, she just punches people.”

“Ah, so she went to the Riley Adams school of conflict resolution.”

Artemis laughed. “I told you they were a lot alike.”

“Yeah, I’m not sure if they’d be best pals or kill each other.”

“Maybe someday we’ll find out.”

“Please invite me to that show. I’ll bring the popcorn.” She jerked a thumb in the direction of the bar. “Think I have a shot?”

“With Darcy?”

“No, with AJ,” Mattie teased.

“Well, I hear her girlfriend is a crack shot with a laser rifle so I’d watch out,” Artemis teased back.

“Right, then Darcy it is then. What do you think?”

“I’d say you have shot. I’m not sure she’d know what to do with you, though.”

Mattie smiled. “Let’s hope I get the chance to find out.”

Leave a Reply

