NaNoWriMo Day 15

Artemis Bly Saves History

Nov 15 word count: 18,010

AJ finished her last slice of pizza and sat back on the couch, beer in her hand, and leaned again Artemis. “It’s hard for me to imagine you not having friends, Marty. Everyone seems to love you.”

Artemis shrugged. Or at least, tried to. It was more of a half shrug since AJ was leaning on her shoulder. “I never stayed anywhere long enough to really make friends until I came to H City.”

“And it didn’t bother you? I mean, I don’t know what my life would be like without Riley and Ritsuko and everyone.”

“I guess I didn’t know what I was missing,” Artemis said. “But now I do and I wouldn’t change my life for the world.” She drained the last of her beer. “I’m so happy I found H City and Riley and, most importantly, you.”

AJ smiled up at her. “I’m glad you did too. You’re the best thing that’s ever happened to me, despite what Riley and Parker may think.”

Artemis laughed and leaned in and kissed her, wondering how it was possible to be this happy.

Leave a Reply

