NaNoWriMo Day 2

Artemis Bly Saves History

Nov 2 Word Count: 3,350

“What are you up to today?” AJ asked.

“Riley asked if I’d back her and Betty up with nasty new vampire gang this afternoon. And I’ve got some research to do.”

“Research?” AJ asked. 

Artemis nodded. “I got a message from a mate at the Society yesterday. He said he spotted an anomaly on the timeline that  might be interested in. I thought I’d look into it.”

“Does that mean you’ll be off again soon?”

Artemis shrugged. “If it’s worth investigating, maybe.”

AJ looked down at her cup of coffee and was quiet for a long moment. Finally, she said, “Do you think…I mean, would you maybe want to…” She took a deep breath, still looking down. “Could I come with you?”

Artemis couldn’t help but smile. She always found it ridiculously adorable when, on the rare occasion, AJ, who was always so confident and quick witted, was flustered. “You really want to come with me?” She asked. AJ had always been interested in what Artemis did but she never thought she’d actually want to come along.

AJ finally looked up at her. “Yeah. Of course. I mean, there’s this whole part of your life that I don’t get to see and I…I don’t know, I guess I just want to experience it was you.”

Artemis was now smiling ear to ear, the freckles across her nose dancing. Somehow AJ always managed to make her feel like the most important person in the world. She gave AJ’s hand a squeeze. “AJ, I would love to have you come with me.”

“Really?”

“Of course. I want you to be a part of ever part of my life,” Artemis replied, and she meant it. She wanted to share her whole life with AJ, everything. It was a strange feeling for Artemis, having never really been this close to anyone, but not a bad one.


Artemis had always been a tomboy, much to the dismay of the proper ladies who ran the home for girls where she grew up. She knew from a pretty young age that she wasn’t like the other girls. She hadn’t been interested in boys or makeup or dresses, preferring instead to read books on engineering and build things and climb trees. The other girls didn’t understand her and while they still liked her because Artemis had the sort of good-natured personality and friendly demeanor you can’t help but like, she could never call any of them her close friends. The women had tried their best to turn her into a proper lady and Artemis tried, she really had, but it just wasn’t her. As soon as she was old enough, she booked it out of there. At some point along the way, she had figured out that she was probably gay as she couldn’t ever see any use for men but she never got around to really testing the theory. She’d kissed a few girls throughout her travels but never stayed anywhere long enough to get close enough to anyone to really fall in love. That is, of course, until she met AJ. She was kind of glad, actually, that she’d never made a connection with any of those other women because that just made AJ all the more special. She was absolutely head over heels in love with AJ and it was the best feeling in the world.

Leave a Reply

