October 15 2016

From Riley Adams Stops Time

Artemis pulled Riley towards the desk and away from Wells.  She asked quietly, “I know you hate time travel and I know you hate that guy so did you really come all the way back here just for me?”

“Of course. You’re my friend and part of my team.”

Artemis raised her eyebrows. “And that’s the only reason?”

“And…well, AJ is eight kinds of crazy about you.” Riley took a deep breath and looked away from Artemis. “I know what it’s like to lose the person you care about most in the world. I don’t want AJ to have to suffer like that. I couldn’t stand to see my best friend go through what I did.”

Artemis put a hand on Riley’s shoulder. “That might be the sweetest thing I’ve ever heard you say, Riley Adams.”

“Yeah, well, don’t get used it,” Riley mumbled.

“It’s good to know that under that tough exterior you really do care.”

“Of course I care. I just don’t feel the need to go around talking about it all the time.”

“Sure. And while I appreciate the sentiment, and the rescue, that’s it? That’s the whole reason you came to 1925?”

“If you’re waiting for me to cry, it’s not happening, sunshine.”

Leave a Reply

