October 11 2016

I missed yesterday because it was a particularly long, frustrating, stressful day at work and when I finally got home all I wanted to do was go to bed. Life happens. 

From Riley Adams Stops Time

You want me to pretend to be married him?!” Riley protested.

“Hey, you’re not exactly my first choice either, sweetheart,” Wells shot back.

Artemis rolled her eyes. “Look, you just have to keep it up until we get to my room. Ten minutes tops, if anyone stops us.”

“Alright, alright,” Riley said begrudgingly. Then she thought of something. “Do people really believe you’re from Minnesota?”

“Sure. As long as I talk like this,” Artemis said, seamlessly masking her normal Yorkshire accent with a midwestern one. “I taught myself how to mimic accents back when I was working on the international railroad. It’s come in handy on more than one occasion.”

It really shouldn’t have surprised her, Riley thought, but she couldn’t help but be amazed at the seemingly random collection of skills Artemis had picked up over the course of her travels. She’d seen the woman do everything from hacking a government database to hitting a home run to tuning a ukulele. It was kind of impressive, really, and Riley made a note to actually get to know her better. It seemed like Artemis was going to be around for awhile, especially if AJ had anything to say about it.

“Okay, Lisa Simpson from Minnesota, lead on,” Riley said.

Leave a Reply

