August 9 2016

From Riley Adams Doubles Down

An hour or so later, Riley stood next to Mattie in Hannigan’s parking lot and watched her friends disperse. Ritsuko, Jane, and Betty all piled into Ritsuko’s Jeep, Logan slid into his squad car, and AJ and Artemis strolled off down the street hand in hand. Howell had already climbed into the government issued black SUV he and Mattie had shown up in but Mattie wasn’t in hurry to follow him. Riley leaned against her 1969 Shelby Cobra and the FBI agent followed suit.

“You’re still driving this beast?” Mattie asked.

“I wouldn’t trade her for the world,” Riley said, looking at the car adoringly.

“Man, I wish I could find someone who looks at me the way you look at this car,” Mattie said with a grin.

“Still no luck in the romance department?” Riley asked.

Mattie shook her head. “Not all of us are lucky to have Boy Scout police sergeants fall all over us.”

“Hey, Logan does not fall all over me,” Riley said, indignant.

“Relax, Riley, I was just teasing you,” Mattie said, nudging her with her elbow. “Besides, I don’t need a man.”

Riley raised her eyebrows. “How about a woman?”

Mattie laughed. “I don’t need one of those either. I’m happily single. If I happen to meet someone, great, but dating isn’t a priority for me.”

“All the better, dating sucks.”

“I thought you were happy with Logan?”

“Sure,” Riley said. “But I’m not sure you can call our relationship ‘dating’. It’s more like sleeping together and sometimes we have dinner but we’re both so busy it doesn’t happen that often.”

“But you love each other?”

“Something like that.”

Mattie shrugs. “Whatever works if that’s what makes you happy.”

“Amen.” Riley looked down the street where she could still make out the figures of AJ and Artemis. “Now those two are dating. Honest to goodness dating. Sometimes they’re too adorable for their own good.”

Mattie laughed. “Yeah, I kind of picked that up at dinner.” 

Leave a Reply

