August 8 2016

From Riley Adams Doubles Down

After a little while, Danny came back with food and everyone settled into to enjoy their dinners. With the rest of the table distracted, Mattie leaned over to Riley, put a hand on her arm and said, “Hey, I heard about what happened to Michael. I’m so sorry. I should have…I didn’t know what to say when I heard.”

Riley gave her a sad smile. “It’s okay. I mean, I wasn’t okay for a long time. I was in a bad place but I finally took down the scumbag who did it and now I’ve finally moved on.”

Mattie returned the smile. “I’m glad.” She straightened up and as she turned to address the burger on her plate she said, “So, tell me about this boyfriend you have now.”

Riley almost choked on her mouthful of burger but AJ jumped in for her. “That would Sergeant Logan Wallis of the H City police.”

“A cop? Of course,” Mattie said with a grin.

Riley finally managed to swallow and said, “What’s that supposed to mean?”

AJ and Mattie exchanged a mischievous look. Riley was starting to regret introducing the two of them. She should have know better.

“You never could resist a man in uniform,” Mattie said.

“Accurate,” AJ agreed.

Leave a Reply

