July 12 2016

From Riley Adams Stops Time

When AJ walked through the door of Riley’s office she was still smiling. Jane looked up from her computer and raised her eyebrows. “Well, don’t you look happy,” she said.

“Never been happier, Janey,” AJ replied, handing her one of the three cups of coffee she was carrying. 

AJ stepped through the next door and found Riley at her desk cleaning her beloved Colt revolver. “Riley my friend, this is the best day ever,” AJ announced as Riley looked over at her.

“Is it now?” Riley asked, taking the coffee AJ held out to her and raising her eyebrows.

“Oh yes,” AJ answered. “Remember our conversation last night?”

Riley thought for a moment and then her jaw dropped. “You didn’t,” she said suspiciously.

AJ gave her a smug grin. “I did.”

“You mean you…you really…”

“Asked Artemis out? You bet I did. And she said yes!”

“Really?”

“Really.”

“Well it’s about time. I thought I was going to have to wait forever for you two to figure things out.”

AJ nearly choked on her coffee. “Oh look who’s talking! It took you years to work things out with Logan. I’ve only known Artemis for a few months.”

“Yeah, but that’s diffrent.”

“How?” AJ demanded.

“Well…Artmeis and Logan are different, obvioulsly…and, well, so are you and I…and I mean, you and Artemis liked each other from the start so…” Riley stammered and AJ could tell she’d caught her off guard. She wouldn’t let her live this one down for a while.

“Yeah, that’s what I thought,” AJ said with a victorious grin.

Riley rolled her eyes. “Yeah, yeah. Anyway, I’m happy for you. You and Artemis are so good together. Did you take her out for pancakes like you planned?”

AJ shook her head. “I didn’t get the chance. The whole thing sort of came up as soon as we got to the park.” Riley started to reply but then AJ realized something and cut her off. “It was all your fault!” AJ gave her a light punch in the shoulder.

“Ow!” Riley protested. “What was my fault?”

“Your stupid comment about us not being able to focus! Artemis knew something was up so I had to tell her about our conversation.” She hit Riley again.

“Hey, it all worked out, didn’t it?”

“Yeah, it did,” AJ admitted. “But you still ruined my perfect plan.”

Leave a Reply

