In Which I Challenge Myself to Write Every Day

Recently I was listening to an interview with Jane Espenson (aka one of the best TV writers ever) and it inspired me to get back in the habit of writing every day. It made me realized I’ve been slacking a bit since November and I really have no excuse. Well, that’s a lie, I could come up with plenty of excuses but really I have no GOOD excuses.

Because I love a challenge, especially a good writing challenge (I’m an eight year National Novel Writing Month veteran, after all) I decided to give myself one. I’ll try to do some sort of writing every day and then I’ll post the best part of whatever I wrote here. It might be a line, it might be a couple of paragraphs or it might be something in between. I might be actually good or it might be the best of whatever I could manage that day but it will definitely be something. The idea, much like the idea behind NaNoWriMo, is just to get myself in the habit of writing ever day.

Speaking of National Novel Writing Month (which, for anyone unaware, challenges writers to write 50,000 words of a novel during the month of November), July is Camp NaNoWriMo, which is slightly more relaxed than the November event. I’ve given myself the goal to write 50,000 words and I’ll be working on several short stories. At least, that’s the plan right now. If my NaNoWriMo history is any indication, it could change at any moment. At any rate, it’s starts July 1st so I figure that would be a perfect time to start this blog. In theory, I should be writing every day so it’ll be a good way to ease into this project.

So get ready because on July 1st I’ll be kickstarting my writing and sharing the best thing I write every day.

One thought on “In Which I Challenge Myself to Write Every Day

Leave a Reply

